Island Dance

Dream Journal 03-07-16 and Daily response to the Daily Post’s Daily Prompt: Island

I initially thought that I was dreamless again last night, but I now realise that this wasn’t the case. I have but a single image of my dream last night. I was teaching Sirrah (a really good friend of mine) how to dance. We were trying to tango and I was deliberately stepping on her toes.

The dream took back on this beautiful island style studio, we had not the money to go overseas but what we could do was equip the attic room in our house with the scenery and images of the country we wanted to visit. Currently, it was themed to the Galapagos Archipelago. We had painted the floor t be the ocean and using the piles of stuff that we had hoarded over the years, we shaped the islands and danced in between them like the tides danced against the shore.

We were about to step to the El Tango de Roxanne. One of my favourite songs from Moulin Rouge. She was in her apron (I don’t know why she was, I did most of the cooking). She was in the middle of a swirl and the perspective I have in the dream is of me looking forward from about four metres behind her. The sun was setting off in the horizon and I was looking exhausted. We had danced for quite some time now and I was almost ready to keel over. As the last light of day shone through that great big glass wall overlooking the street, it bounced off of a shiny object tucked into her back pocket. Reflected in the sunlight was the cold hard steel of one of my blades.

 

One thought on “Island Dance

Leave a Reply

