Dream Journal 28-04-16

So you know those movies that show a board game coming to life? Yeah, I dreamt that but of scrabble. Damn scary too. Not that it ends up making much sense in the end but hey, it’s a dream after all.

I started out in this massive leather sack, it could easily fit 50 people if you removed the massive black granite slabs that bounced around when the giant shuffled around the pieces around. Trust me on this one, you do not ever want to be caught where I was. The game was long, the giants were traditional giants – even my cat “Smudge” was smarter than them. Each play involved a series of placing and replacing of all seven tiles only to decide that a three letter word was the only thing they knew how to make. I didn’t know why I was there, I wasn’t sure that I wanted to either. I was in a giant’s castle, so close that I could feel the winds caused by their measly exhale, I was at the bottom of the bag and their game was nearly over. I had thought of every possible scenario for escape, my best option was still to just wait them out. Surely they didn’t have the mental stamina to continue for much longer? Even if it were at this dreadful pace.

The minutes turned to hours and the hours just kept on stacking up. Their match was taking so long that I thought I would die of starvation, or, even worse, death by boredom before they finally called it quits.

I don’t know how long it took them, I had fallen asleep by the time they were done. I was lucky that they were miserable after the game and hadn’t packed up yet, no way I would have been able to get myself out of this box safely if they packed it away properly.  With a noise level equal to a teenager sneaking back into their parents’ house at night, I made it out of the sack, over the board and out the door. All of a sudden, I remembered why I came here. I had a craving for cheesecake!

Leave a Reply

