What Would Happen if an Elephant Could Jump?

A not-so-daily response to the Daily Post’s Daily Prompt: Snap

While speaking to a newly acquainted friend I suddenly had the urge to ask hem about elephants. Initially, nothing in particular just all of their thoughts on the great grey creatures. After a short contemplation of their answer, I had the title question hit me – what would happen if an elephant could jump?

Short answer, snap. I think. I am no master on elephant physiology so I could be spouting untruths here. The weight of an elephant is a really large number, but I suppose for them it is not actually that big. They have lived all their lives with all that weight and I don’t know about you but I haven’t heard a single one of them complain.

Elephants themselves are pretty weird creatures, and to get an idea of their jumping ability I think a good place to look would be their closest living relative.

1024px-Procavia-capensis-Frontal.JPG

Photo: Bjørn Christian Tørrissen, via Wikimedia Commons. Distributed under a CC-BY-SA-3.0 license.

Yeah, I wouldn’t have said that was related to the elephant either but hey, not much we can do about that.

We also have…

1024px-Manatee_Looking_at_the_Camera.jpgPhoto: Chris Muenzer, via Wikimedia Commons. licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic license.

The first image is that of the Rock Hyrax and the secnd, a Manatee.

The only similarity between the elephant and the Hyrax that I can see is the slght semblance of the tusk-like teeth. The manate looks like it is a lot closer to the elephant if we judge by podgeyness and skin alone.

Seeing as neither of these creatures are similar enough to the elephant for a layman such as myself to drawany reasonabl conclusions I will have to leave it at the short answer – SNAP.

One thought on “What Would Happen if an Elephant Could Jump?

Leave a Reply

