Lightspeed? Well that’s dissapointing

A Response to the Daily Post’s Daily Prompt: Pace Oddity

If you could slow down an action that usually zooms by, or speed up an event that normally drags on, which would you choose, and why?

I have two things that I would like to slow down, and one thing I would like to speed up.

First and foremost I would speed up the dispersing of all traffic. Not in a way that makes it more likely for accidents and crashes to occur but just so that we can spend less time on our daily commute and more time with things that actually matter. Also, I am not a fan of driving so the less time I spend in a car the better.

The second thing I would like to speed up would be my writing speed, just fast enough so that it matches my thought speed. As I wish not to think any faster for if I did I fear that I might never be able to hold onto an idea for long enough to capture on paper. The downside to this is that I probabily will make even more spelling errors.

What would I slow down though? Well, I would be fascinated to see what the movement of light actually is like. I wish to be able to watch light move at a snail’s pace as I turn on my bedside lamp.

Although I think the post fulfilled its purpose, of inspiring me to write something (unlike the last few days), I have failed to select only one. Out of these three options, which do you think is the best one to speed up/slow down? Or do we end up falling back onto faster internet?

Leave a Reply

