2016 Day 45

A response to the Daily Post’s Daily Prompt: Thanks, Hindsight

How is the year shaping up for you so far? Have your predictions come true, or did you have to face a curve ball or two?

I think it has been a pretty good year so far. I rather enjoy making predictions on what I think is most likely to happen and all the better when I have to think my way around a curve ball.

If we take the start of the year to be the end of the events last year then my year started almost 5 months ago. And it is in that mindset that I shall respond to this prompt. So what has happened to me this ‘year’?

Well, shortly after my exams ended, I started playing the RPG board game, Dungeons and Dragons quite seriously and have loved it so far. I also started playing Magic the Gathering. I started learning Latin (while I continue to learn Japanese). I submerged myself in ancient philosophical tomes and came to terms with my lack of intelligence. I started working on my fictional world Martas as well as this very blog for my dreams and general writing improvement. I also started cooking weekly for my family and preparing my own meals when I am spending the day on campus. All of which I had mostly anticipated. So what about the curveballs?

My computer’s motherboard frying up right after I bought a whole new wave of games, as well as my family’s computer having its graphics card break was definitely unexpected. Thank goodness my laptop still has life in it. I also got back in contact with my Japanese pen pal just yesterday and was thrilled to get a reply from her.It’s been three months or so since we were last in contact.

The only other curveball would be how well this site has done. I have created a few blogging sites before but was never able to maintain them. This site, which was meant to act as an online dream journal, has far exceeded my expectations and I am most grateful to all of you for making that happen.

Leave a Reply

