But their Geometry…

Daily Posts Daily Prompt: Second Time Around

Tell us about a book you can read again and again without getting bored — what is it that speaks to you?

I actually am a terrible reader. Well, a terrible reader of fiction that is, I devour thick philosophical texts and read over those about as many times as the waves kiss the shore. When I read fiction, I find myself digging out plot holes and tactical flaws just like I do in movies and I don’t allow myself to sit back and just enjoy the book. So what I often have to do is take it really slowly, that is why I say I am a terrible reader of fiction.

When looking at this prompt, I battled to find a book that I would reread over and over again. But then this extract occurred to me, and an ice-cold chill shot down my spine .  . .

“Of such great powers or beings, there may be conceivably a survival . . . a survival of a hugely remote period when . . . consciousness was manifested, perhaps, in shapes and forms long since withdrawn before the tide of advancing humanity . . . forms of which poetry and legend alone have caught a flying memory and called them gods, monsters, mythical beings of all sorts and kinds.”

This text by HP Lovecraft I found to really mean something to me. Not because I am a cultist, dear Baskerville no. It captured me in its magnificent and vile manifestations of creatures that lie in wait beyond the net of human understanding. Beings who descended from the moon, beings whose very geometry is just plain wrong.

I wouldn’t say that this book (well, really it is more of a short story) is particularly great or inspiring on any superhuman level. I wouldn’t even say that it’s something I would recommend to everyone. I would say that this book is timeless. These creatures and the other ones Lovecraft uses, such as those in Sarnath, are supernaturally beyond the scope of regular human imaginings.

The Call of Cthulhu.

Ph’nglui mglw’nafh Cthulhu R’lyeh wgah’nagl fhtagn.

Second Time Around

Leave a Reply

